Business Hub

How companies benefit from sustainability

In a world increasingly characterized by extreme weather events, sustainability is one of the most important issues for companies. In addition to ethical responsibility, political guidelines such as the CSRD or the ESG criteria are pushing for corporate climate protection. The good news: Those who act holistically and honestly secure a clear competitive advantage.

The urgency for more sustainability in business also becomes clear with a view to society, as 89 percent of Germans would like companies to operate more sustainably and in a more environmentally friendly manner ¹. Sustainable action is therefore increasingly demanded by consumers, but also by other stakeholders.

Increased customer loyalty and positive corporate reputation

Companies that are committed to sustainability meet this requirement and thus promote the trust and loyalty of their customers. Because also specifically related to consumers, 71 percent consider climate change to be a serious problem. Around 90 percent of consumers would like to buy explicitly sustainable products ² and would even be prepared to pay more ³.

The positive impact on corporate reputation can be deduced from this, because corporate commitment to sustainability leads to a high degree of emotional brand loyalty ² and enhances the company's reputation: More than two-thirds of Germans have a more positive opinion of brands that are committed to sustainability ⁴. This, in turn, is crucial for success in the market. 89 percent of companies with sustainability standards benefit from sales- and marketing-related advantages ⁵.

Access to new markets and investors

With an enhanced corporate reputation comes easier access to new markets. Many countries and regions impose stricter environmental requirements, and companies that meet these requirements can expand in these markets. In addition, sustainable companies are often more attractive to investors because they are seen as more stable in the long term.

Increased employee satisfaction 

Sustainable companies often have committed and satisfied employees. This is because employees who experience their company's sustainability goals as challenging rate their employer better overall (81 percent) and are more involved in their commitment (67 percent) ⁶. Employees appreciate working for companies that share their values and are committed to positive change in the world. This is also shown in a study by StepStone, according to which three out of four employees would like to have a sustainable employer. Labor market expert Tobias Zimmermann even says that climate protection is one of the most important factors for the attractiveness of an employer ⁷. This becomes clear in the Königssteiger study, according to which for 83 percent the environmental awareness of the employer is even as important or more important than the company's success ⁸. The resulting advantage for companies: higher employee loyalty leads to lower staff turnover and increased productivity. 

Advantages in employer branding

In addition to the company as an employer, this naturally also has an impact on employer branding and the job market. More than 60 percent of Germans say that information on sustainability in job advertisements or on career pages is a particular incentive for them to apply for a job. More than half say that environmental protection and sustainable action is one of the three most important incentives when deciding for or against an employer ⁸. This makes employers who are committed to sustainability pioneers on the labor market and reach the best talent.

Profit through cost savings

Sustainable business also often means using resources more efficiently. Companies that reduce their energy and water consumption, minimize waste and optimize supply chains can achieve significant cost savings. These savings can add up to a significant financial advantage in the long term.

Risk mitigation

The global challenges related to the environment and social responsibility can also pose significant risks for companies. On the one hand, legislation relating to environmental and social issues is becoming stricter, so companies that fail to comply with these regulations face legal consequences. For another, a single incident of negative environmental impact can lead to a serious reputation problem and shake the confidence of customers and investors. This in turn leads to loss of sales or market share. Another issue is dependence on non-renewable resources, which makes companies vulnerable to price fluctuations and potential shortages. Through an ESG assessment, companies can test their vulnerability to such potential vulnerabilities and take countermeasures. Companies that act sustainably are better equipped to avoid or respond to risks. As a result, financial losses and reputational issues are avoided, and companies are more resilient.

It is therefore clear that holistic sustainability is not only an ethical obligation, but also a clear competitive advantage for companies. By building a positive reputation, saving costs, accessing new markets, being innovative, improving employee retention and mitigating risk, companies can benefit from sustainability in many ways. In a world where sustainability is becoming more than just a trend, companies should leverage these positive side effects to ensure long-term success.

With Planted, we support companies in the implementation of their individual and holistic sustainability strategy through to ESG reporting. Would you like to find out more? Book your no-obligation demo here.

Sources:

¹ Trend study: 89 percent of Germans want companies to be more sustainable - business-on.de 

² Sustainability - the turning point of marketing (markenartikel-magazin.de)

Greener business: Green IT may cost more (wiwo.de)

IAS study shows: Advertising in a sustainability context increases brand value, Integral Ad Science, Press release - PresseBox

isealalliance.org/sites/default/files/resource/2019-05/Summary - Business Benefits of Standards Report.pdf.

Sustainability activities promote identification and commitment (greatplacetowork.de)
So important is sustainability for employers - Stepstone - Fill vacancies with Stepstone

Whitepaper-Jobfactor-Climate.pdf (koenigsteiner.com)

Job search and climate protection: Sustainability worth a lot (merkur.de)‍

¹⁰ Innovating-for-a-sustainable-future (global.ntt)

Free guide

How-to: Sustainability in the company

Business Hub

Wie Unternehmen von Nachhaltigkeit profitieren

In einer Welt, die immer stärker von Extremwetterereignissen geprägt ist, ist Nachhaltigkeit eines der wichtigsten Themen für Unternehmen. Neben der ethischen Verantwortung drängen politische Richtlinien, wie die CSRD oder die ESG-Kriterien, zum unternehmerischen Klimaschutz. Die gute Nachricht: Wer ganzheitlich und ehrlich handelt, sichert sich einen klaren Wettbewerbsvorteil.

Die Dringlichkeit für mehr Nachhaltigkeit in der Wirtschaft wird auch mit Blick auf die Gesellschaft deutlich, denn 89 Prozent der Deutschen wünschen sich, dass Unternehmen nachhaltiger und umweltgerechter wirtschaften ¹. Nachhaltiges Handeln wird also mehr und mehr von Verbrauchern und Verbraucherinnen, aber auch von anderen Stakeholdern gefordert.

Gesteigerte Kundenbindung und positive Unternehmensreputation

Unternehmen, die sich für Nachhaltigkeit einsetzen, kommen dieser Forderung nach und fördern damit das Vertrauen und die Loyalität ihrer Kundinnen und Kunden. Denn auch spezifisch auf die Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten bezogen, halten 71 Prozent den Klimawandel für ein ernstes Problem. Rund 90 Prozent der Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher möchten explizit nachhaltige Produkte kaufen ² und wären sogar bereit, mehr zu zahlen ³.

Der positive Einfluss auf die Unternehmensreputation lässt sich daraus ableiten, denn unternehmerisches Nachhaltigkeitsengagement führt in hohem Maß zu einer emotionalen Markenbindung ² und steigert das Ansehen des Unternehmens: Mehr als zwei Drittel der Deutschen haben eine positivere Meinung von Marken, die sich für Nachhaltigkeit einsetzen ⁴. Das wiederum ist für den Erfolg im Markt entscheidend. 89 Prozent der Firmen mit Nachhaltigkeitsstandards profitieren von vertriebs- und marketingbezogenen Vorteilen ⁵.

Zugang zu neuen Märkten und Investoren

Durch eine gesteigerte Unternehmensreputation folgt ein erleichterter Zugang zu neuen Märkten. Viele Länder und Regionen legen strengere Umweltauflagen fest, und Unternehmen, die diesen Anforderungen gerecht werden, können in diesen Märkten expandieren. Darüber hinaus sind nachhaltige Unternehmen für Investoren oft attraktiver, da sie langfristig als stabiler angesehen werden.

Gesteigerte Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit 

Nachhaltige Unternehmen haben oft engagierte und zufriedene Mitarbeitende. Denn Mitarbeitende, die die Nachhaltigkeitsziele ihres Unternehmens als anspruchsvoll erleben, bewerten ihren Arbeitgeber insgesamt besser (81 Prozent) und bringen sich in ihrem Engagement stärker ein (67 Prozent) ⁶. Mitarbeitende schätzen es, für Unternehmen zu arbeiten, die ihre Werte teilen und sich für positive Veränderungen in der Welt einsetzen. Das zeigt auch eine Studie von StepStone, laut der sich drei von vier Beschäftigten einen nachhaltigen Arbeitgeber wünschen. Der Arbeitsmarktexperte Tobias Zimmermann spricht sogar davon, dass Klimaschutz einer der wichtigsten Faktoren für die Attraktivität eines Arbeitgebers ist ⁷. Deutlich wird das in der Königssteiger Studie, nach der für 83 Prozent das Umweltbewusstsein des Arbeitgebers sogar genauso wichtig oder wichtiger ist, als der Unternehmenserfolg ⁸. Der daraus resultierende Vorteil für die Unternehmen: die höhere Mitarbeiterbindung führt zu niedrigeren Personalfluktuationen und erhöhter Produktivität. 

Vorteile im Employer Branding

Neben dem Unternehmen als Arbeitgeber hat das natürlich auch Auswirkungen auf das Employer Branding und den Stellenmarkt. Über 60 Prozent der Deutschen geben an, dass Informationen zu Nachhaltigkeit in Stellenanzeigen oder auf Karriereseiten einen besonderen Anreiz für eine Bewerbung für sie darstellen. Mehr als die Hälfte sagt, dass Umweltschutz und nachhaltiges Handeln einer der drei wichtigsten Anreize bei der Entscheidung für oder gegen einen Arbeitgeber ist ⁸. Damit werden Arbeitgeber, die sich nachhaltig engagieren, auf dem Arbeitsmarkt zu Vorreitern und erreichen die besten Talente.

Profit durch Kosteneinsparungen

Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften bedeutet auch oft, Ressourcen effizienter zu nutzen. Unternehmen, die ihre Energie- und Wasserverbräuche reduzieren, Abfall minimieren und Lieferketten optimieren, können erhebliche Kosteneinsparungen erzielen. Diese Einsparungen können sich langfristig zu einem erheblichen finanziellen Vorteil summieren.

Risikominderung

Die globalen Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit Umwelt und sozialer Verantwortung können auch erhebliche Risiken für Unternehmen darstellen. Zum einen wird die Gesetzgebung in Bezug auf Umwelt- und Sozialfragen strenger, sodass Unternehmen, die diese Vorschriften nicht einhalten, vor rechtlichen Konsequenzen stehen. Zum anderen kann ein einziger Vorfall negativer Umweltauswirkungen zu einem ernsthaften Reputationsproblem führen und das Vertrauen der Kundinnen und Kunden sowie der Investorinnen und Investoren erschüttern. Das führt wiederum zu Umsatz- oder Marktanteilverlusten. Ein weiterer Punkt ist die Abhängigkeit von nicht erneuerbaren Ressourcen, die Unternehmen anfällig für Preisschwankungen und mögliche Knappheiten macht. Über ein ESG-Assessment können Firmen ihre Anfälligkeit für solche möglichen Schwachstellen testen und Gegenmaßnahmen ergreifen. Unternehmen, die nachhaltig handeln, sind besser gerüstet, um Risiken zu umgehen oder darauf zu reagieren. Dadurch werden finanzielle Verluste und Reputationsprobleme vermieden, die Unternehmen sind widerstandsfähiger.

Es wird also deutlich, dass ganzheitliche Nachhaltigkeit nicht nur eine ethische Verpflichtung ist, sondern auch ein klarer Wettbewerbsvorteil für Unternehmen. Durch den Aufbau einer positiven Reputation, Kosteneinsparungen, Zugang zu neuen Märkten, Innovationsfähigkeit, besserer Mitarbeiterbindung und Risikominderung können Unternehmen von Nachhaltigkeit in vielerlei Hinsicht profitieren. In einer Welt, in der Nachhaltigkeit mehr als nur ein Trend wird, sollten Unternehmen diese positiven Begleiterscheinungen nutzen, um sich langfristigen Erfolg zu sichern.

Mit Planted unterstützen wir Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung ihrer individuellen und ganzheitlichen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie bis hin zur ESG-Berichterstattung. Sie möchten mehr erfahren? Buchen Sie sich hier unverbindlich Ihre Demo.

Quellen:

¹ Trendstudie: 89 Prozent der Deutschen wünschen von Unternehmen mehr Nachhaltigkeit - business-on.de 

² Nachhaltigkeit – die Zeitenwende des Marketings (markenartikel-magazin.de)

³ Grüner wirtschaften: Green-IT darf mehr kosten (wiwo.de)

IAS-Studie zeigt: Werbung im Nachhaltigkeit-Kontext steigert den Markenwert, Integral Ad Science, Pressemitteilung - PresseBox

isealalliance.org/sites/default/files/resource/2019-05/Summary - Business Benefits of Standards Report.pdf

Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten fördern Identifikation und Engagement (greatplacetowork.de)
So wichtig ist Nachhaltigkeit für Arbeitgeber - Stepstone - Offene Stellen mit Stepstone besetzen

Whitepaper-Jobfaktor-Klima.pdf (koenigsteiner.com)

Jobsuche und Klimaschutz: Nachhaltigkeit viel wert (merkur.de)

¹⁰  Innovating-for-a-sustainable-future (global.ntt)

Kostenloser Ratgeber

How-to: Nachhaltigkeit im Unternehmen