Advanced

Sustainability with the involvement of employees

Goal

Making processes more sustainable and reducing internal emissions as far as possible

Solution

Calculation and analysis of operational emissions

innomatec Mess- und Schnellanschluss-Systeme GmbH
50-100
 Employees
Mechanical engineering

Problem

innomatec laid the foundation for sustainability in 2013 by making the new administration building energy-efficient and installing a PV system on the roof. The system generates enough electricity to supply part of the production with environmentally friendly energy in addition to the administration building. Since 2021, the system has also been feeding the charging points for electric vehicles. 

Further sustainability measures were implemented in 2022, such as an optimized office layout and strict paper separation. Sustainability was officially integrated into the corporate strategy in February 2023 in order to withstand the positioning vis-à-vis major customers and remain competitive. The targeted increase in energy efficiency and cost reductions also led to this step.

Solution

After personal onboarding by the Planted experts and the appointment of a sustainability officer in the company, innomatec was able to start recording emissions quickly.

CO<sub wg-1="">2</sub> balance of innomatec in the Planted sustainability platform

CO2 balance sheet

In the first step, the data on operational emissions was compiled and entered into the sustainability platform's calculation tool. The carbon footprint was then automatically calculated and analyzed. It became clear that innomatec only emits low emissions in Scope 1 and 2. The use of the PV system in particular contributes to Scope 2. More than 90 percent of emissions fall into Scope 3 and relate to the procurement of materials.

Next steps

With the help of the balance sheet, innomatec was able to develop a status quo that will help to develop strategies for reducing the carbon footprint in the coming years. The focus here is on the materials aluminum, copper and steel, which make up the majority of the footprint. In close cooperation with suppliers, it is important to clarify where the material comes from. There are also further questions regarding the quantity or possible alternatives.

Planned reduction measures

As a next step, Innomatec is now planning to reduce its internal emissions:

Savings potential per scope
Planned actions

Result and outlook

Innomatec has set itself the goal of reducing its carbon footprint step by step in order to be able to market its products better and at the same time make production as sustainable as possible.

"Thanks to the collaborative partnership, intuitive software operation and good preparation by the Planted experts, the first step towards greater sustainability was much easier than expected," says Managing Director Pascal Schröer. "In just a short time, it was possible to get a holistic overview of our carbon footprint - without much prior knowledge." It is now important for innomatec to get employees on board, involve them in the strategy and keep them regularly informed via newsletters and quarterly reports. In the medium term, the company is planning to move into a new building, the construction of which will once again focus on sustainability.

About innomatec

innomatec is a reliable provider of advanced leak testing solutions. The company offers a wide range of products and services, including user-friendly leak test computers, pressure-tight quick connectors and high-quality test benches that meet the high testing requirements of a wide range of industries.

Learn more >

Further case studies

Tech
Advanced

Tax return meets environmental protection: Wundertax's commitment to the corporate handprint

Service
Advanced

Passion4IT on the way to Net-Zero

Advanced

Nachhaltigkeit unter Einbindung der Mitarbeitenden

Ziel

Prozesse nachhaltiger gestalten und die internen Emissionen soweit wie möglich reduzieren

Lösung

Berechnung und Analyse der betrieblichen Emissionen

innomatec Mess- und Schnellanschluss-Systeme GmbH
50-100
 Mitarbeitende
Maschinenbau

Problem

Den Grundstein für Nachhaltigkeit legte innomatec 2013, indem das neue Verwaltungsgebäude energieeffizient und mit einer PV Anlage auf dem Dach umgesetzt wurde. Die Anlage erzeugt ausreichend Strom, um neben dem Verwaltungsgebäude einen Teil der Produktion mit umweltfreundlicher Energie zu versorgen. Seit 2021 speist die Anlage auch die Ladesäulen für Elektrofahrzeuge. 

Im Jahr 2022 wurden weitere Nachhaltigkeitsmaßnahmen umgesetzt, wie etwa eine optimierte Büroaufteilung oder eine strikte Papiertrennung. Um der Positionierung gegenüber großen Kunden standzuhalten und wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben, wurde Nachhaltigkeit im Februar 2023 offiziell in die Unternehmensstrategie integriert. Auch die gezielte Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und Kostensenkungen führten zu diesem Schritt.

Lösung

Nach einem persönlichen Onboarding durch die Planted Experten und der Festlegung eines Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragten im Unternehmen konnte innomatec zügig in die Erfassung der Emissionen einsteigen.

CO2-Bilanz von innomatec in der Planted Nachhaltigkeitsplattform

CO₂-Bilanz

Im ersten Schritt wurden die Daten über die betrieblichen Emissionen zusammengetragen und in das Berechnungstool der Nachhaltigkeitsplattform eingepflegt. Anschließend wurde die CO-Bilanz automatisiert berechnet und analysiert. Es wurde deutlich, dass innomatec in Scope 1 und 2 nur geringe Emissionen ausstößt. Gerade die Nutzung der PV Anlage zahlt dafür in den Scope 2 mit ein. Mehr als 90 Prozent der Emissionen fallen in Scope 3 und betreffen die Materialbeschaffung.

Nächste Schritte

Mithilfe der Bilanz konnte innomatec einen Status-Quo erarbeiten, der in den kommenden Jahren dabei hilft, Strategien zur Reduktion des CO-Fußabdrucks zu entwickeln. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Materialien Aluminium, Kupfer und Stahl, die den Großteil der Bilanz ausmachen. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Lieferanten gilt es zu klären, wo das Material herkommt. Zudem stellen sich weitere Fragen zur Mengenanzahl oder möglichen Alternativen.

Geplante Reduktionsmaßnahmen

Im nächsten Schritt plant Innomatec jetzt die Reduktion ihrer internen Emissionen:

Einsparungspotenzial pro Scope
Geplante Actions

Ergebnis und Ausblick

Innomatec hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den CO₂-Fußabdruck Schritt für Schritt zu reduzieren, um die Produkte besser vermarkten zu können und gleichzeitig eine möglichst nachhaltige Produktion zu ermöglichen.

“Durch die partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit, die intuitive Softwarebedienung und die gute Vorbereitung durch die Planted Experten konnte der erste Schritt zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit viel einfacher als gedacht realisiert werden”, so Geschäftsführer Pascal Schröer. “In nur kurzer Zeit war es möglich, einen ganzheitlichen Überblick über unseren CO-Fußabdruck zu erhalten - ohne großes Vorwissen”. Jetzt gilt es für innomatec, die Mitarbeitenden ganzheitlich abzuholen, in die Strategie einzubinden und regelmäßig über Newsletter und Quartalsreports zu informieren. Mittelfristig steht ein Umzug in ein neues Unternehmensgebäude an, bei dessen Bau Nachhaltigkeit erneut im Mittelpunkt steht.

Über innomatec

innomatec ist ein zuverlässiger Anbieter von fortschrittlichen Lösungen für die Dichtheitsprüfung. Das Unternehmen bietet ein breites Spektrum von Produkten und Dienstleistungen, darunter benutzerfreundliche Leck-Testcomputer, druckdichte Schnellanschlüsse und hochwertige Prüfstände, die den hohen Prüfanforderungen der unterschiedlichsten Branchen gerecht werden.

Mehr erfahren >

Weitere Case Studies

Tech
Advanced

Steuererklärung trifft Umweltschutz: Wundertax' Engagement für den unternehmerischen Handprint

Dienstleistung
Advanced

Passion4IT auf dem Weg zu Net-Zero