Advanced

Tax return meets environmental protection: Wundertax's commitment to the corporate handprint

Goal

Measuring and further reducing our carbon footprint annually

Solution

CO₂ balance, corporate forests in Germany and local forest protection

wundertax GmbH
25-50
 Employees
Tech

Problem

As a provider of digital tax returns, Wundertax not only pursues digitally progressive topics, but also aims to become an industry pioneer in the area of sustainability with the first green tax return. In addition to the internal introduction of sustainable processes such as a train policy, paperless working in the office, use of public transport or the offer of a job bike for employees, Wundertax has already offset its carbon footprint via global climate protection projects in the years 2019 to 2022. Now the financial services provider wants to go one step further by focusing on local environmental protection.

Solution

Wundertax's sustainability solution in collaboration with Planted is based on three pillars, which cover both internal CO2 management and the promotion of the corporate handprint through local and global environmental protection.

‍CO2 balance sheet

The first step was to calculate and analyze Wundertax's carbon footprint in detail and identify potential savings. Targeted reduction measures can now be implemented on this basis.

Wundertax company forest

‍Treesin Germany

To promote the corporate handprint, Wundertax is committed to local environmental protection and plants a climate-stable tree in Germany for each employee every month. Wundertax's commitment to sustainability can be viewed transparently in the company's digital forest.

Company Forest 

‍Localforest protection

For every tax return submitted, Wundertax protects one square meter of forest in Germany for its customers for one year. In return, the forest in the Sauerland region has been contractually secured from commercial use and can now develop into a primeval forest of the future, providing a habitat for many rare animal and plant species.

CO2 compensation

In addition, company emissions are offset by supporting certified global climate protection projects of the highest standards.

Planned reduction measures

As a next step, wundertax is now planning to reduce its internal emissions:

Savings potential per scope
Planned actions

Result and outlook

Wundertax aims to monitor and further reduce its own carbon footprint annually by drawing up a carbon footprint report.

As the provider of the first green tax return, Wundertax is setting a good example and making the financial sector more sustainable. This makes Wundertax a pioneer among tax software providers in terms of sustainability and makes a positive contribution to climate protection by preserving the forest ecosystem with every product sold. In the future, Wundertax wants to create an even greater impact and awareness among its own employees and customers.

About wundertax‍
wundertax GmbH, based in Berlin, is a leading provider of target group-oriented tax solutions. With a user-friendly online portal and intelligent software, wundertax offers an innovative platform to simplify the complex process of tax returns for each and every individual. The company not only relies on state-of-the-art technology and user-friendliness, but is also an industry-wide pioneer in climate action with its "green tax return" concept.

Learn more >

Further case studies

Mechanical engineering
Advanced

Sustainability with the involvement of employees

Service
Advanced

Passion4IT on the way to Net-Zero

Advanced

Steuererklärung trifft Umweltschutz: Wundertax' Engagement für den unternehmerischen Handprint

Ziel

Fußabdruck jährlich messen und weiter reduzieren

Lösung

CO₂-Bilanz, Firmenwald in Deutschland und lokaler Waldschutz

wundertax GmbH
25-50
 Mitarbeitende
Tech

Problem

Als Anbieter einer digitalen Steuererklärung verfolgt Wundertax nicht nur digital fortschrittliche Themen, sondern möchte auch im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit durch die erste grüne Steuererklärung zum Branchenvorreiter werden. Neben der internen Einführung von nachhaltigen Prozessen wie einer Zug-Policy, papierlosen Arbeiten im Büro, ÖPNV-Nutzung oder dem Angebot eines Jobrads für die Mitarbeitenden, hat Wundertax in den Jahren 2019 bis 2022 bereits ihren CO₂-Fußabdruck über globale Klimaschutzprojekte kompensiert. Jetzt möchte der Finanzdienstleister noch einen Schritt weiter gehen, indem der lokale Umweltschutz fokussiert wird.

Lösung

Die Nachhaltigkeitslösung von Wundertax in Zusammenarbeit mit Planted basiert auf drei Säulen, die sowohl das interne CO₂-Management als auch die Förderung des unternehmerischen Handprints durch lokalen und den globalen Umweltschutz abbilden.

CO₂-Bilanz

Im ersten Schritt wurde die CO₂-Bilanz von Wundertax detailliert berechnet, analysiert und die Einsparpotenziale identifiziert. Auf dieser Grundlage können jetzt zielgerichtete Reduktionsmaßnahmen aufgesetzt werden.

Firmenwald Wundertax

Bäume in Deutschland

Zur Förderung des unternehmerischen Handprints engagiert sich Wundertax für den lokalen Umweltschutz und pflanzt für jeden Mitarbeitenden pro Monat einen klimastabilen Baum in Deutschland. Im digitalen Firmenwald von Wundertax kann das Nachhaltigkeitsengagement transparent eingesehen werden.

Firmenwald 

Lokaler Waldschutz

Für jede abgegebene Steuererklärung schützt Wundertax einen Quadratmeter Wald in Deutschland für seine Kundinnen und Kunden für ein Jahr. Dafür wurde der Wald im Sauerland vertraglich gesichert aus der wirtschaftlichen Nutzung genommen und kann sich jetzt zu einem Urwald der Zukunft entwickeln, der vielen seltenen Tier- und Pflanzenarten ein Habitat bietet.

CO₂-Kompensation

Darüber hinaus werden die Firmenemissionen durch die Unterstützung zertifizierter, globaler Klimaschutzprojekte der höchsten Standards kompensiert.

Geplante Reduktionsmaßnahmen

Im nächsten Schritt plant wundertax jetzt die Reduktion ihrer internen Emissionen:

Einsparungspotenzial pro Scope
Geplante Actions

Ergebnis und Ausblick

Wundertax möchte jährlich den eigenen CO₂-Fußabdruck durch die Aufstellung einer CO₂-Bilanz überwachen und weiter verringern.

Als Anbieter der ersten grünen Steuererklärung geht Wundertax mit gutem Vorbild voran und gestaltet den Finanzbereich nachhaltiger. Damit ist Wundertax in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit ein Vorreiter unter den Steuersoftware Anbietern und leistet mit jedem verkauften Produkt einen positiven Beitrag zum Klimaschutz durch den Erhalt des Ökosystem Wald. Für die Zukunft möchte Wundertax einen noch größeren Impact und Awareness bei den eigenen Mitarbeitenden als auch bei den Kundinnen und Kunden schaffen.

Über Wundertax
Die wundertax GmbH, mit Standort in Berlin, ist führender Anbieter zielgruppengerechter Steuerlösungen. Mit einem benutzerfreundlichen Online-Portal und einer intelligenten Software bietet wundertax eine innovative Plattform, um den komplexen Prozess der Steuererklärung für jeden Einzelne und jeden Einzelnen zu vereinfachen. Dabei setzt das Unternehmen nicht nur auf modernste Technologie und Nutzungsfreundlichkeit, sondern ist mit dem Konzept der "grünen Steuererklärung" auch branchenweiter Vorreiter in Sachen Klimaaktivität.

Mehr erfahren >

Weitere Case Studies

Maschinenbau
Advanced

Nachhaltigkeit unter Einbindung der Mitarbeitenden

Dienstleistung
Advanced

Passion4IT auf dem Weg zu Net-Zero