All about Planted

New direction, same mission: Planted officially goes SaaS

A year full of change and great impact for local and global environmental protection is coming to an end. Since our foundation, our goal with Planted has been to preserve our planet for future generations and living beings. What started with a climate protection subscription for private individuals has quickly evolved. Since 2022, we have also enabled a sustainable commitment for companies, and in 2023 we have tightened this focus - but the mission remains the same. From now on, we will pursue our goal of creating a sustainable future as an SaaS company and strive for Net Zero together with the business community.

For Planted, SaaS is not just Software-as-a-Service, but much more Sustainability-as-a-Service. In 2023, we have done everything we can to combine technology and environmental awareness and create an all-in-one platform for sustainability. With Planted, medium-sized to large companies can use our software solution to implement their CO₂ management, report in compliance with CSRD and also create a positive environmental impact by protecting biodiversity:

1️. ESG quick check and CO₂ data collection including double materiality analysis

2. automated decarbonization strategy with tailored reduction measures for an effective climate transformation

3. promotion of the corporate handprint through local environmental protection projects in Germany and global climate protection projects for CO₂ compensation

4. CSRD-compliant reporting in accordance with ESRS standards and sustainability communication without greenwashing, supported by advisory support and high-quality marketing material

Our Climate Academy also enables companies to run certified sustainability courses on challenging topics in the areas of ESG, CSRD or data collection - for all employees and without any prior knowledge.

More than 400 corporate clients already trust us

To date, over 400 corporate customers have joined us on this journey towards Net Zero. For example, the IT service company Passion4IT has used the Planted software solution to calculate its carbon footprint, implemented initial reduction measures based on this and has already planted over 3,000 climate-stable trees. With Wundertax, we have enabled the first green tax return by promoting local environmental protection, and the mechanical engineering company innomatec has also laid the foundations for a long-term sustainability strategy by calculating and analyzing its carbon footprint.

Wood Vibes Only: Planting trees and protecting forests in Germany

In addition to the launch of our holistic ESG software solution, our biggest highlight is the significant contribution we have made to environmental protection. Thanks to the commitment of our corporate and private customers, we were able to finance 118,359 climate-stable trees this year. These will be gradually planted in the ground during the current planting season until the end of March. Since our foundation in 2021, we have planted a total of 261,859 climate-resilient trees in over 90 areas across Germany - more than 100 soccer pitches of mixed forest. New trees are planted on an area in the Harz Mountains, near Berlin, near Reutlingen and Göppingen in Baden Württemberg, in the Kerpener Bruch near Cologne, Bodenmais in Bavaria and in the Kirchheller Heide in the Ruhr area.

In addition to planting climate-stable mixed forests, we also enable the protection of local forests in order to develop them into species-rich and climate-protecting ecosystems. The longer a forest remains unused, the more niches there are, such as fallen trees or tree hollows: places of protection for many species. Since 2022, we have been protecting 10,162 square meters of forest (for 20 years) in the Sauerland region. Rare animals find a new home there in rotten wood and tree holes, rotting wood serves as food and the trees can reach an advanced age. 

Impact: CO₂ compensation via CO₂ certificates

In addition to our forest projects, the number of carbon offset projects we support has also increased. We now support ten different global CO₂ projects, from hydropower plants in Vietnam and Brazil to solar energy in Mexico and wind power in Thailand. 

Through these certified projects, we have been able to offset a total of 178,857 tons of CO₂ emissions since 2021, which is equivalent to more than 14 trips around the world by car. In addition, the projects have improved the lives of local people and supported the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Our corporate customers' share of offset emissions is 92,007 tons of CO₂ emissions.

Thank you for a successful 2023!

As the year draws to a close, we would like to thank all our corporate clients and private donors for their commitment and cooperation. Without their support, our work would not be possible and the positive impact on the environment would be much smaller. We are very much looking forward to the coming year, new goals and even more impact for the preservation of our planet.

Would you like to implement CSRD-compliant sustainability in your company at the start of the year? Book a free demo of our software solution here.

Free guide

Step by step: sustainability in the company

Alles zu Planted

Neue Ausrichtung, gleiche Mission: Planted goes officially SaaS

Ein Jahr voller Veränderungen und großem Impact für den lokalen und globalen Umweltschutz neigt sich dem Ende zu. Seit der Gründung ist es unser Ziel, mit Planted unsere Erde für weitere Generationen und Lebewesen zu erhalten. Was mit einem Klimaschutz-Abo für Privatpersonen gestartet ist, hat sich schnell weiterentwickelt. Seit 2022 ermöglichen wir auch ein nachhaltiges Engagement für Unternehmen, und in 2023 haben wir diese Ausrichtung verschärft – die Mission aber bleibt gleich. Unser Ziel, eine nachhaltige Zukunft zu schaffen, gehen wir ab jetzt als SaaS-Unternehmen und streben gemeinsam mit der Wirtschaft Net Zero an.

Für Planted bedeutet SaaS nicht nur Software-as-a-Service, sondern viel mehr Sustainability-as-a-Service. In 2023 haben wir alles daran gesetzt, Technologie und Umweltbewusstsein zu verbinden und eine All-in-One-Plattform für Nachhaltigkeit zu schaffen. Mit Planted können mittelständische bis Großunternehmen über unsere Softwarelösung ihr CO₂-Management umsetzen, CSRD-konform berichten und zusätzlich einen positiven Umwelteinfluss durch den Schutz von Biodiversität zu schaffen:

1️. ESG-Quickcheck und CO₂-Datenerhebung inklusive doppelter Wesentlichkeitsanalyse

2. Automatisierte Dekarbonisierungsstrategie mit maßgeschneiderten Reduktionsmaßnahmen für eine effektive Klimatransformation

3. Förderung des unternehmerischen Handprints durch lokale Umweltschutzprojekte in Deutschland sowie globale Klimaschutzprojekte zur CO₂-Kompensation

4. CSRD-konforme Berichterstattung gemäß der ESRS-Standards und eine Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation ohne Greenwashing, unterstützt durch Beratungssupport und hochqualitatives Marketingmaterial

Unsere Climate Academy ermöglicht Unternehmen darüber hinaus die Bewerkstelligung zertifizierter Nachhaltigkeitskurse zu herausfordernden Themen im Bereich ESG, CSRD oder der Datenerhebung – für alle Mitarbeitenden und ohne jegliches Vorwissen.

Mehr als 400 Firmenkunden vertrauen uns bereits

Bis heute begleiten uns über 400 Firmenkunden auf dieser Reise Richtung Net Zero. So hat beispielsweise das IT-Dienstleistungsunternehmen Passion4IT mithilfe der Planted Softwarelösung ihre CO₂-Bilanz berechnet, darauf aufbauend erste Reduktionsmaßnahmen umgesetzt und bereits über 3.000 klimastabile Bäume pflanzt. Mit Wundertax haben wir die erste grüne Steuererklärung ermöglicht, indem lokaler Umweltschutz gefördert wird und auch das Maschinenbau-Unternehmen innomatec hat mit der Berechnung und Analyse ihrer CO₂-Bilanz den Grundstein einer langfristigen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.

Wood Vibes Only: Bäume pflanzen und Waldschutz in Deutschland

Neben dem Launch unserer ganzheitlichen ESG-Softwarelösung ist unser größtes Highlight der signifikante Beitrag für den Umweltschutz. Durch das Engagement unserer Firmen- und Privatkundinnen und -kunden konnten in diesem Jahr 118.359 klimastabile Bäume finanziert werden. Diese werden in der aktuellen Pflanzsaison bis Ende März nach und nach in die Erde gesetzt. Seit unserer Gründung im Jahr 2021 kommen wir damit insgesamt auf 261.859 klimastabile Bäume auf über 90 Flächen in ganz Deutschland - mehr als 100 Fußballfelder mit Mischwald. Neu gepflanzt wird auf einer Fläche im Harz, bei Berlin, nahe Reutlingen und Göppingen in Baden Württemberg, im Kerpener Bruch bei Köln, Bodenmais in Bayern als auch in der Kirchheller Heide im Ruhrgebiet.

Neben der Pflanzung klimastabiler Mischwälder ermöglichen wir auch den Schutz lokaler Wälder, um sie zu artenreichen und klimaschützenden Ökosystemen zu entwickeln. Denn je länger ein Wald ungenutzt ist, desto mehr Nischen wie beispielsweise umgefallene Bäume oder Baumhöhlen gibt es: Schutzorte für viele Arten. Seit 2022 schützen wir 10.162 Quadratmeter Wald (für 20 Jahre) im Sauerland. Seltene Tiere finden dort im morschen Holz und Baumlöchern ein neues Zuhause, verrottendes Holz dient als Nahrung und die Bäume können ein hohes Alter erreichen. 

Impact: CO₂-Kompensation über CO₂-Zertifikate

Neben unseren Waldprojekten hat auch die Zahl unserer unterstützten Klimaschutzprojekte zur CO₂-Kompensation zugenommen. Mittlerweile fördern wir zehn verschiedene globale CO₂-Projekte, von Wasserkraftwerk in Vietnam und Brasilien, Solarenergie in Mexiko bis hin zu Windkraft in Thailand. 

Über diese zertifizierten Projekte konnten wir seit 2021 insgesamt 178.857 Tonnen CO₂-Emissionen kompensieren, was mehr als 14 Fahrten mit dem Auto um die Welt entspricht. Darüber hinaus konnte das Leben der Menschen vor Ort der Projekte verbessert und die Sustainable Development Goals der Vereinten Nationen unterstützt werden. Der Anteil unserer Firmenkunden an kompensierten Emissionen liegt bei 92.007 Tonnen CO₂-Emissionen.

Danke, für ein erfolgreiches Jahr 2023!

Zum Ende des Jahres möchten wir uns ganz herzlich bei allen Firmenkundinnen und -kunden sowie den privaten Spenderinnen und Spendern für ihr Engagement und die Zusammenarbeit bedanken. Ohne die Unterstützung wäre unsere Arbeit nicht möglich und auch die positiven Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt um einiges kleiner. Wir freuen uns sehr auf das kommende Jahr, neue Ziele und noch mehr Impact für den Erhalt unserer Erde.

Sie möchten Nachhaltigkeit CSRD-konform zum Jahresstart in Ihrem Unternehmen umsetzen? Buchen Sie sich hier kostenlos eine Demo unserer Softwarelösung.

Kostenloser Ratgeber

Schritt für Schritt: Nachhaltigkeit im Unternehmen