How high are the CO₂ emissions in my company?
🌱 Test Planted Beta Software for your company?
How high are the CO₂ emissions in my company?

Hydropower in Brazil

Project

The project activity consists of the supply of clean hydropower to the Brazilian national interconnected grid through the construction and operation of the Barra Grande hydropower plant. This is located in the southern region of Brazil, between the cities of Anita Garibaldi, Santa Catarina State and Pinhal da Serra, Rio Grande do Sul State. The power plant has an installed capacity of 708 MW, using a small reservoir, with low environmental impact relative to its installed capacity. The Barra Grande hydropower plant generates electricity from a clean and renewable source, helping to meet the growing demand for electricity in Brazil. Thus, the project contributes to environmental, social and economic sustainability and promotes the share of clean and renewable energy in the country.

Verification

The project is verified by the Verified Carbon Standard.
Here you can find more information about environmental certificates.

Context

In 2020, Brazil already covered 83 percent of its electricity consumption with renewable energies. By comparison, Germany was at 49 percent from renewable sources in 2021. Most of Brazil's green energy comes from hydropower, which accounts for more than 60 percent in the country. Wind energy is in second place with just under ten percent, while solar parks play a subordinate role. In 2020, Brazil already covered 83 percent of its electricity consumption with renewable energies. By comparison, Germany was at 49 percent from renewable sources in 2021.

Climate solution

Small hydropower plants use the energy of free-flowing water without using a dam. This allows diesel generators to be replaced by clean electricity generation. Small turbines are placed in a free-flowing river or stream and capture the kinetic energy of the water without creating a dam. As an underwater analogue to wind turbines, their blades rotate as the water flows by, generating electricity relatively continuously. No barriers, diversions or storage are required, only limited structural support. There are no emissions.

You can find more information about this type of climate solution here.

Photos

No items found.

Supported UN Sustainable Development Goals

No items found.
Want to learn more about the Sustainable Development Goals? Follow this link.

Project location

The project activity consists of the supply of clean hydropower to the Brazilian national interconnected grid through the construction and operation of the Barra Grande hydropower plant. This is located in the southern region of Brazil.

📊 Wie hoch ist der CO₂-Ausstoß in meiner Firma?
🌱 Planted Beta Software für deine Firma testen?
📊 Wie hoch ist der CO₂-Ausstoß in meiner Firma?

Wasserkraft in Brasilien

Projekt

Die Projektaktivität besteht in der Lieferung von sauberer Wasserkraft in das nationale brasilianische Verbundnetz durch die Errichtung und den Betrieb des Wasserkraftwerks Barra Grande. Dieses befindet sich in der südlichen Region Brasiliens, zwischen den Städten Anita Garibaldi, Bundesstaat Santa Catarina und Pinhal da Serra, Bundesstaat Rio Grande do Sul. Das Kraftwerk hat eine installierte Leistung von 708 MW, unter Nutzung eines kleinen Reservoirs, mit geringen Umweltauswirkungen im Verhältnis zur seiner installierten Kapazität. Das Wasserkraftwerk Barra Grande erzeugt Strom aus einer sauberen und erneuerbaren Quelle und trägt dazu bei, die wachsende Nachfrage nach Strom in Brasilien zu decken. Damit trägt das Projekt zur ökologischen, sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Nachhaltigkeit bei und fördert den Anteil der sauberen und erneuerbaren Energien im Land.

Verifizierung

Das Projekt ist vom Verified Carbon Standard verifiziert.
Hier findest du mehr Informationen zu den Umweltschutzzertifikaten.

Kontext

Bereits im Jahr 2020 deckte Brasilien 83 Prozent seines Stromverbrauchs durch erneuerbare Energien. Zum Vergleich: Deutschland lag im Jahr 2021 bei 49 Prozent aus erneuerbaren Quellen. Der größte Teil der grünen Energie Brasiliens stammt aus Wasserkraft, die mehr als 60 Prozent im Land ausmacht. Windenergie liegt mit knapp zehn Prozent auf dem zweiten Platz, während Solarparks eine untergeordnete Rolle spielen. Bereits im Jahr 2020 deckte Brasilien 83 Prozent seines Stromverbrauchs durch erneuerbare Energien. Zum Vergleich: Deutschland lag im Jahr 2021 bei 49 Prozent aus erneuerbaren Quellen.

Klimalösung

Kleinwasserkraftwerke nutzen die Energie des frei fließenden Wassers, ohne einen Damm zu nutzen. So können Dieselgeneratoren durch saubere Stromerzeugung ersetzt werden. In einem frei fließenden Fluss oder Bach werden kleine Turbine platziert und fangen die kinetische Energie des Wassers ein, ohne einen Stausee zu schaffen. Als Unterwasser-Analogon zu den Windturbinen drehen sich ihre Flügel, wenn das Wasser vorbeifließt, und erzeugen relativ kontinuierlich Strom. Es sind keine Barrieren, Umleitungen oder Speicher erforderlich, nur eine begrenzte strukturelle Unterstützung. Emissionen fallen keine an.

Mehr Informationen über diese Art der Klimalösung findest du hier.

Photos

No items found.

Unterstützte Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN

No items found.
Du möchtest mehr über die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung lernen? Folge diesem Link.

Standort des Projekts

Die Projektaktivität besteht in der Lieferung von sauberer Wasserkraft in das nationale brasilianische Verbundnetz durch die Errichtung und den Betrieb des Wasserkraftwerks Barra Grande. Dieses befindet sich in der südlichen Region Brasiliens.